top of page

SDO Holds 2nd Annual Gawad Pinaglabanan Seal of Effective School Governance (SESG) Awards

Consistent with DepEd’s commitment to pursue quality education via the ‘MATATAG’ reform agenda, the Schools Division of San Juan City held the 2nd Grand Awarding Ceremony of the Gawad Pinaglabanan: Seal of Effective School Governance (SESG) with the theme: Resiliency in the New Normal, Sustaining the Gains on November 24, 2023 at OB Montessori Center, Greenhills, San Juan City.

Highlights include inspirational messages from the following education luminaries:

Serving as keynote speaker is Dr. Dexter A. Galban, Asst. Secretary for Operations lauded the efforts of SDO San Juan in ensuring that schools are future-ready by instituting a system of effectively managing schools considering – the safety, health, and happiness of the learners through its various programs/interventions, such as WINS, GAD to highlight the value of every gender also put a spotlight on efforts related to comprehensive sexual education as well as adolescent reproductive health. He also recognized the school’s interventions in implementing zero dropout and school-based feeding programs which beginning 2024-2025 will be implemented for a full year supported, commitment to arts through storytelling, story books –to highlight youth formation and promote creative arts industry and proper maintenance of key facilities which contribute to the holistic development of the learners.

For her part, OB Montessori Center President Sara Francesca Soliven-De Guzman acknowledged resiliency as a way to go in the new normal, passion and commitment, love, and strengthened partnerships among parents, learners, and teachers will sustain this new mindset. As a committed partner, she offered that OBM has a library of over 450 modules covering all the subjects from pre-school to senior high school that can be shared with public schools, if the need arises. She added, ‘This is the way we shall all sustain the gains of our shared pandemic experience by committing to the sharing of our resources, learnings, and best practices by going beyond the preconceived notions and limitations of what public and private education is supposed to be.”

Mayor Francisco Javier Zamora, SDS Margarito Materum, and ARD Cristito Eco, from their end --- honor the commitment, dedication, and tireless efforts of the San Juan City public schools in providing quality education even amidst the challenges brought about by the post-pandemic era; commending teachers, learners, SDO personnel for their unwavering commitment and passion in sustaining the gains achieved in the face of adversity, instilling in the process the values of resilience, adaptability and determination. That the schools are receiving awards because of Excellence, Compassion, and being Outstanding (ECO), as summarized by ARD Eco. SDS Materum, on the other hand, impassioned the schools to continue to serve as a beacon of effective school governance and inspire others to follow and emulate, with or without an award for them to continuously do their share in the quest for: “bansang makabata, batang makabansa” exemplifying the meaning of Pinaglabanan as ‘we are in San Juan this is who we are’.

The Awardees:

A. Special Awards

a. Commendation on Financial Reporting Compliance

• San Juan City Integrated School

• West Crame Elementary School

• San Juan National High School

b. Most Improved School Facility

• Sta. Lucia Elementary School

c. Commendation on Achieving Zero Drop Out Rate

• San Juan City Academic Senior High School

• San Juan City Technical-Vocational & Livelihood Senior High School

• San Juan City Science High School (this is the 2nd time, that San Juan City Science High School is receiving this award for SIP cycle 2022-2025)

d. SBM-WinS Star Level Citations

• San Juan City Academic Senior High School - 0 to 1 star

• San Perfecto Elementary School - 1 to 2 stars

• Nicanor Ibuna Elementary School - 0 to 2 stars

• West Crame Elementary School - 0 to 2 stars

e. Most Purposive GAD Program

• San Juan City Integrated School

f. Most Improved Learning Resource Center

• 3rd Place- San Juan City Integrated School

• 2nd Place- Pinaglabanan Elementary School

• 1st Place- Pedro Cruz Elementary School

g. Commendable Literacy Project

• West Crame Elementary School

h. Commendable Numeracy Project

• Pedro Cruz Elementary School

• San Juan National High School

i. 5th Division Competition on Storybook Writing Awards

• Category 1

Grade 4

 3rd Place: Ang Gintong Butil by Mary Dianne Campaner, Cyreen Ebo, and Daniella Marie Bungag

 2nd Place: Isang Dangkal Na Biyahe by Amy Terrazola and Cyreen Ebo

 1st Place: Ang Makulay Na Pagbabago Ni Raya by Josefina Arenas

Grade 5

 2nd Place: Si Gelie Marumi by Mary Dianne Campaner, Cyreen Ebo, Rhael Dela Cruz, and Daniella Marie Bungag

 1st Place: Si Makmak At Si Super Ma’am by Jade Panganiban

Grade 6

 3rd Place: Kinarawgan by Marianito Dazo

 2nd Place: Ang Pakikipagsapalaran sa Sitio Antukin by Danica Mae D. Rivera

 1st Place: Diwata ang Tatay Ko by Cristy Cayetano and Micah Melorin

• Category 3: Wordless Storybooks for Kindergarten

 3rd Place: Splash! by Michael Mabasa

 2nd Place: Perka, ang Pusang Map-prrr by Marissa Acuna and Michael Mabasa

 1st Place: Hello, Dino! Hello, Dino by Maria Liwayway Rosopa

B. Major Awards

Gawad Pinaglabanan - Bronze

Nicanor C. Ibuna ES

West Crame ES

Pedro Cruz ES

San Juan NHS

Salapan IS

San Juan City ACAD SHS

San Juan City IS

San Juan City Science HS

San Perfecto ES

San Juan City TVL SHS

Sta. Lucia ES

Gawad Pinaglabanan  - Silver

Kabayanan ES

Pinaglabanan ES

The event was spearheaded by the School Governance Operations Division (SGOD) in coordination with the Curriculum Implementation Division (CID).

SESG is a reboot of school-based management which is in line with the current administration’s reform agenda: MATATAG: Bansang Makabata, Batang Makabansa, which aims to set the new direction of the agency and stakeholders in resolving basic education challenges. It serves as a response to the current DepEd policy gap on providing quality assurance mechanism at the school level and serves as a proactive response to SDO San Juan's strategic goals, objectives, and options in building capacities and ensuring accountabilities, conferment of the Seal shall be awarded to Elementary and Secondary Schools which adhere to Effective Quality First Doctrine, based on identified components of school-based management and its corresponding indicators covered in the framework, evaluation models, and other relevant metrics criteria.  It aims to perpetuate a culture of school self-evaluation as a way to continuously improve, employing a holistic approach to target specific gaps, identify interventions to address gaps in practicing inclusive education, and look at this as an opportunity to innovate to improve school outcomes.

1 MATATAG has four critical components:

  • MAke the curriculum relevant to produce competent and job-ready, active, and responsible citizens;

  • TAke steps to accelerate delivery of basic education facilities and services;

  • TAke good care of learners by promoting learner well-being, inclusive education, and a positive learning environment; and

  • Give support to teachers to teach better.

ASEC Dexter Galban, OB Montessori Center President Sara Francesca Soliven-De Guzman with Key SDO officials/officers and the awardees.

Keynote Speaker ASEC Dexter Galban

Event Emcees: Nurses Via May Popes and Michelle Cielito Abraham

Article Written by: 

Ana Marie O. Hernandez

SESG - Focal Person


Featured Posts
bottom of page