top of page

SDO San Juan City Leaders Attend the 2019 National Assembly of Education Leaders

The Division of San Juan City leaders participated in the three-day National Assembly of Education Leaders, with the theme, “Challenged Leaders: Embracing the Future, Braving the Changes”, held last September 24-26, 2019 at the Grand Ballroom, Marriot Hotel, Pasay City.

The assembly aimed to provide education leader-participants the opportunity to strengthen their capabilities in achieving the goals of the K to 12 Basic Education Curriculum Program in this digital age. The gathering was highlighted with the keynote speech of the Secretary of Education, Hon. Leonor Magtolis Briones, who stressed the important role of education leaders in nation-building. “As we prepare our learners to be grown-ups, we influence shaping their values. We should hone our learners to contribute to a more inclusive, just, peaceful, and sustainable world," the Secretary said.

“This assembly of education leaders has encouraged us to be more resilient as we perform our commitment to serve our respective schools in an age where education has become diverse and challenging”, Dr. Lucila G. Artuyo, Principal of San Perfecto Elementary School, said in an interview.

Among the powerhouse line-up of speakers, Dr. Agustin of Ateneo De Manila University, elucidated the various challenges that teachers and leaders go through and how these could be contained without losing your sanity. He emphasized, “Leaders do not only take care of the people (teachers) but also take care of the Institution (DepEd) as well”.

The 8-leader contingent of SDO San Juan who braved and accepted the challenges of the times was headed by Mrs. Flordelisa D. Pereyra, OIC-ASDS, along with Dr. Helen G. Padilla, Chief, CID, Mrs. Marnelli B. Tolentino, EPS-English, for the Schools Division Office. The contingent of principals was headed by Dr. Juphet Caapuyan (PCES), with Dr. Lucila G. Artuyo (SPES), Mr. Vito Mengote (SLES), Mr. Cesar A. Camayra (SJNHS) and Dr. Jay F. Macasieb (SJCSHS).

The 2019 National Assembly of Education Leaders is based on DepEd Memorandum No. 87, S. 2019 which authorized the participation of DepEd officials and other employees in all governance levels of the Department of Education.

Article written by:

Jay F. Macasieb (Assistant Principal - San Juan Science High School)

Featured Posts
bottom of page