top of page

SDO San Juan Hosts 2019 MTAP Regional Finals

Math geniuses across the region battled it out for supremacy on becoming the NCR's Math Champions in the 2019 Deped - Metrobank - MTAP Math Challenge Regional Finals held last March 1, 2019 at the Pinaglabanan Elementary School, San Juan City.

The annual math contest showcased the mathematical competencies of Grade 6 and Grade 10 learners who competed in individual and team categories.

National Capital Region is divided into two groups based on the type of school. Public schools belonged to Category A while Science Schools to Category B. This scheme is in line of giving chances to regular learners to compete. Category A was held at Pinaglabanan Elementary School while Category B was at the Division Office Conference Hall.

The challenge comprised of solving mathematical problems within the allotted time. Ten 15 - second questions were given which are to be computed mentally; five 30 - second questions and five 60 - second questions using pen and paper computation. The contestant or team that gained the highest score at the end of three rounds was declared as champion.

Mr. Dennis M. Bacle, School Head of Pinaglabanan Elementary School, welcomed all the participants, trainers and supervisors during the opening program while Mr. Lloyd T. Tulaylay, Principal of San Juan Elementary School, introduced all the participants from different divisions.

Dr. Alejandro G. Ibañez, OIC – Schools Division Superintendent, gave an inspirational message to all the participants and wished them good luck before the start of the contest proper.

Mrs. Helen S. Acedo, Education Program Supervisor in Mathematics, who by that time was assigned in Region 10 at Carmen National High School, Cagayan De Oro City, Misamis Oriental for the same activity, the Metrobank-MTAP-DepEd Math Challenge Regional Finals, was well represented by SDO San Juan Math Teachers who served as proctors, scorers and recorders for the event together with LRMDS EPS- Mr. Orlando Claor, School Heads – Mr. Dennis Bacle, Mr. Cesar Camayra, Mr. Lloyd Tulaylay, Dr. Nonita Sajo, Dr. Lucila Artuyo, Ms. Marina Aunzo, Mr. Vito Mengote, Dr. Juphet Capuyan, Mrs. Hernanda Santos and some other division personnel.

​​Students from Grade 10 – Earth Special Science Class gave an intermission number led by Ms. Liberty D. Quirino as they featured their winning Math Jingle Performance.

Francis Rafael C. Flor and Muhammad Farouk P. Tan II of Silangan Elementary School topped Category A while Tracy Lauren T. Lei and Nicholas Marcus B. Lua of Grace Catholic School placed first in Category B for Grade 6 level.

In the Grade 10 Team Competition, Lagro High School’s Math geniuses Miguel Andrei C. Gimena and Rafael Sheen R. Acuña finished first place for Category A as Paul Samson B. Topacio and Al Patrick C. Castro of Makati Science High School topped Category B.

The top 10 Individual Category Winners for Grade 6 and Grade 10 were also awarded by Dr. Flordelita G. Male, Education Program Supervisor II in Mathematics – NCR, CID Chief, Dr. Helen G. Padilla, Dr. Remy Soriano, Dr. Emma Cunanan and Mrs. Evelyn Callada, Math Supervisors of Manila, Paranaque and Malabon respectively and Ms. Dang Red, Metrobank Representative, who delivered a closing message quoting DepEd Sec. Leonor Briones that Math Champions, like basketball players, singers, and dancers should also be admired and be called "Idols". Medals, certificates and cash prizes were given to the winners while their coaches also received cash incentives as well.

The national finals is scheduled on March 29 and 30, 2019 at Metrobank Building, Makati City.

Article written by:

Ma. Christina O. Brisuela (Math Teacher, San Juan Elementary School)

Featured Posts
bottom of page