top of page

DepEd San Juan Awards SBM’s Best Implementers

"Alone we can do so little, together we can do so much." - Helen Keller

The quotation spells out the teamwork of DepEd and the Local Government of San Juan City. They joined force for another milestone in the Department for the evaluation and awarding of SBM Best Implementers at Caliraya Resort Club Inc. Lumban Laguna. Teachers and non-teaching personnel of the eight elementary schools: San Juan E/S, Pedro Cruz E/S, San Perfecto E/S, Salapan E/S, Pinaglabanan E/S, Kabayanan E/S, Sta. Lucia E/S, and Nicanor Ibuna E/S, San Juan National High School and the Schools Division Office personnel trooped to Caliraya on Friday, May 25, 2016 for a two-day teambuilding activity. Six buses were provided where the different schools shared the ride bound to the place.

Dr. Joel T. Torrecampo, CESE, the Acting Schools Division Superintendent and the brains of it all, together with the ASDS, Ms. Flordeliza D. Pereyra, CESE, Mr. Allan Elliezer M. Mal-in, Administrative Officer V and Dr. Felicito M. Angeo, SGOD Chief, and the School Heads, led the group in the fun-filled endeavour.

Prior to this, the faculty presidents of all the schools met with Sir Mal-in regarding the set-up of the accommodation, the conduct of the activities, and prizes to be given. The result of their meeting was disseminated to all.

Ms. Pereyra and her team came first with Sir Mengote at about 8 o’clock in the morning. They checked the venue and set for the comfort of everybody. Most of the employees arrived at around ten in the morning. The opening program followed hosted by Mr. Wyeth and Ms. Ronquillo. They were supported by the faculty presidents. Ms. Pereyra gave the opening remarks and the inspirational message by Sir JT. Dr. Angeo and the SGOD Team awarded the winners of the SBM. San Juan Elementary School won the First Prize, Php15,000.00, Sta. Lucia Elementary School was the Second, they won Php10,000.00 and the third, San Juan National High School and they won Php5,000.00.

The afternoon was full of fun and surprises. The participants were grouped into eight teams: Green, Gray, Violet, Blue, Red, Yellow, Pink, and Orange. Each team was facilitated by the principals who were supported by the faculty presidents per school. The grouping was done at random which made the Team Building challenging and fun for the members. The Amazing Race was facilitated by the resort’s staff. Several activities were provided for the competing teams. These were: Wall Climbing, Mud Slide, Puzzle Challenge, the Hanging Bridge and more. At the end, Team Violet emerged the Champion, followed by Team Blue, Team Yellow and Team Red. The champion got five thousand, four thousand, three thousand and two thousand respectively. The rest of the teams were given consolation prize of one thousand each.

The evening event was equally fun and exciting. The search for Mr. and Ms. DepEd San Juan was a bang! Each team was represented by similarly smart, thrilling, and beautiful teachers and non-teaching personnel. Candidates were selected based on these criteria: talent, creative attire and question and answer. Judges were headed by the Asst. Schools Division Superintendent, Ms. Flordeliza D. Pereyra. The audience hailed at the top of their voices when the pageant started. Dr. Joel T. Torrecampo was present all throughout the night. The winners were: Champion – Gray Team winning Php2,000.00 Gift Check (GC) for each of the participants, First Runner-up – Team Red with Php1,500.00 GC each, and the Second Runner-up won Php1,000.00 GC each. All other contestants received Php500.00 GC.

This event was funded by the Special Education Fund of the Local Government headed by city mayor, Hon. Guia G. Gomez in collaboration with the DepEd San Juan headed by Dr. Joel T. Torrecampo.

"Teamwork is the ability to work together toward a common vision. The ability to direct individual accomplishments toward organizational objectives. It is the fuel that allows common people to attain uncommon results." - Andrew Carnegie

“A leader is the one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.” From Left to Right: Dr. Joel T. Torrecampo, SDS, Dr. Flordeliza D. Pereyra, ASDS, Mr. Cesar A. Camayra, Principal III, Dr. Lucila G. Artuyo, Principal III, Dr. Nonita Y. Sajo, Principal IV, Teaching and non-teaching personnel Ms. Ma. Aieen B. Callorina, OIC-Senior High School, and having fun during the orientation and awarding ceremony. Ms. Marina Aunzo, Principal I.

Amazing Race Challenge composed of eight teams… Red, Green, Violet, Yellow, Orange, Pink, White and Gray Teams. Schools faculty presidents facilitating the draw of winners per school.

Article written by:

Ms. Virginia R. Lopez (San Perfecto ES Teacher)

Featured Posts
bottom of page